Dinesh Kumar
Dinesh Kumar - Cinema

Dinesh Kumar is an Indian choreographer working with South Indian films, including Tamil films. He won the 2011 National Film Award for Best Choreography for his work in Aadukalam (Tamil). He won the 58th National Film Award for Best Choreographer for the Film "Aadukalam". He won rich praises from the Jury with the comments 'This National Award for Best Choreography is awarded to Dinesh Kumar for the Native Charm and Innovative Design in the art of Choreography that creates an Effervescent Energy in the Spectator".

Dinesh Kumar has been having a very good year working with all the big stars in movies such as Thalaivaa, Arrambam and also in the Hindi movie Matru Ki Bijilee Ka Mandola. The National Award winning Dinesh is a very busy master even otherwise, and he has worked on 4 songs in Idhu Kathirvelan Kaadhal as well, starring Udhayanidhi and Nayanthara. The 4th song is currently being filmed near Pollachi in Thirumoorthi Dam.

DSODS- A Dream of Cine Choreographer Mr. DINESH who has been into this field for more than 20 years and who is at present rocking in his entire Endeavour’s. His dance schools are being run by Mr. SARAVANAN at Valasaravakkam and Velacherry in the name of Mr. Dinesh as DINESH STUDIO OF DANCE. Dinesh Studio of Dance twin objective of imparting discipline and promoting our great cultural heritage among the youth, we have progressed over the years, culminating in the present day we, extending our activities to include personality development and management services as well. DSODS is involved in stage shows, events, choreographies for Schools, Colleges and Corporate.

As a Choreographer in the Films 

2014    Veeram (Tamil)

2013    Aadhi bhagavan (Tamil)

2013    All in all azhagu raja (Tamil)

2012    Thuppaki (Tamil)

2012    Maatraan (Tamil)

2012    ok ok (Tamil)

2012    Sundarapandian (Tamil)

2012    Dhobi (Tamil)

2012    Business man (Telugu)

2012    Gabber sing (Telugu)

2012    Genius (Telugu)

2012    Seethamma (Telugu)

2012    Naayak (Telugu)

2011    Sathurangam (Tamil)

2011    Velayutham (Tamil)

2011    Ko (Tamil)

2011    Vandhan vendran (Tamil)

2011    boss engira baskaran (Tamil)

2011    Mounaguru (Tamil)

2011    Kazhugu (Tamil)

2011    Mandhira Punnagai (Tamil)

2011    Dookudu (Telugu)

2011    Pannja (Telugu)

2010    Enthiran (Tamil)

2010    Sura (Tamil)

2010    Kavalan (Tamil)

2010    Chikku bukku (Tamil)

2010    Aadukalam (Tamil)

2010    Madrasapattinam (Tamil)

2010    Easan (Tamil)

2010    Vamsam (Tamil)

2010    Mayavi (Tamil)

2010    Pudhupettai (Tamil)

2010    Porali (Tamil)

2010    Inithu inithu (Tamil)

2010    Bale pandiya (Tamil)

2010    Maanja velu (Tamil)

2010    Ragada (Telugu)

2010    Varudu (Telugu)

2010    Anwar (Malayalam)

2009    Yogi (Tamil)

2009    Vettaikaran (Tamil)

2009    Aadhavan (Tamil)

2009    Ayan (Tamil)

2009    Padikathavan (Tamil)

2009    Sarvam (Tamil)

2009    Subramaniapuram (Tamil)

2009    Naadodigal (Tamil)

2009    Pasanga (Tamil)

2009    Thoranai (Tamil)

2009    Ladam (Tamil)

2009    Villu (Tamil)

2009    Malai malai (Tamil)

2009    Bumper offer (Telugu)

2009    Kick (Telugu)

2008    Yaradi Nee Mohini (Tamil)

2008    Aegan (Tamil)

2008    Sathyam (Tamil)

2008    Jithan (Tamil)

2008    Thiruvannamalai (Tamil)

2008    Souryam (Telugu)

2008    Annan Thambi (Malayalam)

2007    Vel (Tamil)

2007    Paruthi veeran (Tamil)

2007    Kireedam (Tamil)

2007    Alwar (Tamil)

2007    Azhagiya tamil magan (Tamil)

2007    Thamirabarani (Tamil)

2007    Desamuduru (Telugu)

2007    Yamadonga (Telugu)

2007    Dubai Seenu (Telugu)

2007    Vikramarkudu (Telugu)

2007    Chotta Mumbai (Malayalam)

2007    Thappana (Malayalam)

2006    Pokkiri (Tamil)

2006    Thimiru (Tamil)

2006    Vaathiyaar (Tamil)

2006    Something something (Tamil)

2006    Rendu (Tamil)

2005    Raam (Tamil)

2005    JI (Tamil)

2005    Devathayai Kanden (Tamil)

2005    Dass (Tamil)

2005    Ghajini (Tamil)

2005    Sivakasi (Tamil)

2005    Sandakoli (Tamil)

2005    Majaa (Tamil)

2005    Thotti jaya (Tamil)

2005    February 14 (Tamil)

2005    Rajamanikyam (Malayalam)

2004    Arul (Tamil)

2004    Chellame (Tamil)

2004    M. Kumaran S/OMahalakshmi (Tamil)

2004    Vasool raja MBBS (Tamil)

2004    Attagasam (Tamil)

2004    Giri (Tamil)

2004    Machi (Tamil)

2003    Anbe sivam (Tamil)

2003    Saamy (Tamil)

2003    jey jey (Tamil)

2003    Parthiban kanavu (Tamil)

2003    Vaseegara (Tamil)

2003    Dum (Tamil)

2002    Youth (Tamil)

2002    Thamizhan (Tamil)

2002    April mathathil (Tamil)

2002    Bagavathi (Tamil)

2002    Ramana (Tamil)

2002    Krishna (Telugu)

2001    Shajahan (Tamil)

Family Background

Dinesh Kumar is born in Chennai and currently resides in Chennai. Dinesh Kumar is married to Revathy, his friend. They both were residing in Lakshmi Nagar in Porur, Chennai. He is born with four brother's Ravi, Sathish, Kavin and Sajimal. Dinesh had admitted to his interview with Kumudham magazine that it was his wife who supported him on difficult time when he was aspiring to get into the Film Industry.

Educational Qualification & Sports

Dinesh studied in Rama Krishna Vidyalaya in T.Nagar and later in Nandanam Arts College. He was introduced to Sunadaram Master by Nagendra Prasad (Youngest brother of Prabhu Deva and Raju Sundaram) and was inducted to the team of Prabhu Deva and Raju Sundaram. 

Awards & Titles

2004    Film Today Award for Seena Thanaa (Vasool Raja)

2006    Tamilnadu State Award for Allthotta Bhoopathi (Youth)

2007    Vijay Awards Best Choreographer for “Pokkiri"

2007    SICA Awards Best Choreographer for "Pokkiri"

2009    Kerala State Awards for Malayalam Films

2009    Jaya Young Achievers Awards from “Jaya TV”

2009    Film Fare Award for “Ayan”

2010    Vijay Awards Best Choreographer for “Easan”

2010    Vikatan Awards Best Choreographer for “Easan”

2011    National Award for Otha Sollala (Aadukalam).