Na Muthukumar
List of Kavignargal

Every time we watch a song what captures us first is the melody of the song. Once we have enjoyed the melody the next thing that we concentrate on is the lyrics. When we think of lyrics the one man who comes to our minds of late is Na. Muthukumar, who has given some wonderful meaning to the tunes of many music directors.

The year 2011 saw the release of many films and some brilliant songs which topped the charts. Of these Na. Muthukumar has penned the lyrics for more that 98 songs in all in 2011! While some films had one or two songs penned by the lyricist others had an entire album penned by him. Songs for entire music albums that Muthukumar wrote lyrics for include ’7aum Arivu,’ ‘Veppam,’ ‘Avan Ivan,’ ‘Engeyum Eppodhum,’ ‘Deivathirumagal,’ ‘Vaanam,’ ‘Siruthai’ and ‘Mounaguru’ to name a few.

While the above is a peep into a few of the albums, the lyrics of which were entirely penned by Muthukumar, there are also some stand-alone numbers which have topped the charts in 2011. Some of which are ‘Vizhigalil Oru Vaanavil…’ from ‘Deiva Thirumagal,’ ‘Unpere Theriyadhe..’ from ‘Engeyum Eppodhum,’ ‘Mun andhi saral nee…’ from ’7aum Arivu.’

Moreover, Muthukumar is also penning the lyrics for some big names that will see a release in 2012, the first among them being Shankar’s ‘Nanban.’ The audio of this film is already a hit with the music lovers. Muthukumar has also penned the lyrics for Lingusamy’s ‘Vettai,’ Ajith’s ‘Billa 2,’ Bala’s ‘Eriyum Thanal,’ Rajesh film with Uday Stalin ‘OKOK,’ the historical fiction movie ‘Aravaan,’ as well as Vikram’s ‘Thaandavam,’ to name a few.